JAKIM: Not All Products With ‘E’ Code Contain Pork DNA



Credit: Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim)

Tidak semua nombor E yang digunakan untuk membuat sesuatu produk makanan berasaskan dari sumber yang haram. Bahan-bahan aditif ini boleh bersumberkan tumbuhan, sintetik, mikrob, semulajadi, kimia dan haiwan.

Sehubungan itu, sekiranya produk tersebut merupakan produk tempatan dan mendapat sijil Pengesahan Halal Malaysia, maka ia boleh digunakan tanpa was-was sekalipun mempunyai kod E-kod. Tetapi sekiranya produk tersebut bukan produk tempatan serta tidak mendapat sijil pengesahan halal Malaysia walaupun menggunakan e-kod yang sama, pengguna dinasihatkan agar berhati-hati dalam memilih produk tersebut.

Penjelasan daripada Ketua Pegawai Eksekutif Melaka Biotech; En Bardul Hisham Badrudin berhubung carta aliran pengesanan DNA Babi dalam makanan dan minuman.

Credit: Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim)

Credit: Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim)

PUTRAJAYA: Local products with the ‘E’ code in their halal certificate can be consumed by Muslims, according to the Malaysia Islamic Development Department (Jakim).

Jakim Director-General Datuk Othman Mustapha said food products with the E code or number on the labels were not necessarily processed through haram or prohibited sources.

“However, consumers should be cautious if the product has an E code but is not processed locally and does not have the Malaysian halal certification,” he said in a statement, here, today.

He said the E code referred to additives and commonly used by European Union countries, Australia, New Zealand, northern America particularly Canada, and Israel.

“The numbering scheme is based on the International Numbering System set by the Codex Alimentarius Committee.

“It is a collection of various standards, codes of practice, recognised international guidelines related to food, food processing and food safety aimed at safeguarding public health and to ensure compliance with the ethical trading code of conduct,” he said.

Additives are labelled as follows:

E100 – E199 – colour
E200 – E299 – preservatives
E300 – E399 – oxidants, phosphates, anti-oxidants and acid inhibitors
E400 – E499 – thickeners, moisturisers, stabilisers and emulsifiers
E500 – E599 – salt, acidity regulators and anti-caking agents
E600 – E699 – flavour enhancers
E900 – E999 – sweeteners and glazing agents
E1000- E1999 – additional chemicals

“Not all additives with the E serial number to make food products are from non-halal sources. The sources of the additives could be plants, synthetic, microbes, natural, chemicals and animals,” said Othman.

However, he said, E471, a mono and diglyceride emulsifier, had been the most queried additive.

“It is synthetic fat derived from glycerol and natural fatty acids found in plants such as oil palm or animal fat.

“It is generally a compound of various edible substances similar to natural fat,” he said.

Othman urged food industry players to clearly define the additives in their products so as to leave no room for doubts among Muslim consumers as to the food’s status.

Jakim through its Halal Hub division would also require companies which apply for the halal certificate to fully declare the contents of their products including additives, he said.– BERNAMA

Sumber: Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim), Bernama, Sinar Harian, Berita Harian


letters to R1C


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *